This is the "Home" page of the "Famous Missourians" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Famous Missourians   Tags: america, curriculum, famous, k-8, missouri, missouri_history, missourians  

Resources for studying famous Missourians for elementary students
Last Updated: May 5, 2016 URL: http://testing.v1.libguides.com/elefamousmissourians Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

Map of Missouri with drawings of state symbols and sights

This guide is meant to help elementary school students research famous Missourians as part of the Missouri History curriculum requirements. 

The first page of this guide provides information about resources that cover several famous Missourians each.

On the "Individual Resources" pages you can find information about specific Missourians, including an online biography and a book about each person.

 

General Information Online

Encyclopedia: State Historical Society of Missouri's Historic Missourians

(http://shsmo.org/historicmissourians/index.html): A collection of full and short biographies of famous Missourians that includes information, pictures, and citations for over 100 people.

Dictionary: Secretary of State's Office Student Guide to Famous Missourians

(http://www.sos.mo.gov/Kids/history/famousmissourians): A guide to famous Missourians from the Secretary of State’s office written just for students.

Directory: State Historical Society of Missouri Contribuitors

(http://shsmo.org/historicmissourians/contributors.html): A list ofHistorical Societies and other groups around the state with information about specific famous Missourians.

Full-Text Database: Groiler Go's "America The Beautiful"

(http://go.grolier.com/): A selection of profiles of famous Missourians can be found by navigating to the “America The Beautiful” database, then selecting Missouri from the map and navigaing to the “Profiles” section.

Geography Resource:

(http://maps.communitycommons.org/viewer/?bbox=-11037534.770733338,4072154.070961489,-9516132.1597456,5158171.36883698): Create and save a map of Missouri; use this to keep track of important places in your famous Missourian’s life.

Government Information:

(http://www.house.mo.gov/famous.aspx?fm=display): A list of those who have been inducted into the Missouri House of Representatives’ Hall of Famous Missourians, which honors people important to Missouri’s history with bronze busts in the Capitol building.

 

General Information in Print

Encyclopedia: Encyclopedia Britannica: Discover America

An encyclopedia with a volume for each state; use the index to help locate information about your famous Missourian both in and beyond Missouri.

  • Dewey Call Number: 973.03
  • Citation: Encyclopedia Britannica: Discover America. Chicago: Encyclopedia Britannica, 2005. Print

Dictionary: Dictionary of Missouri Biography

A collection of biographies for over 700 individuals who contributed to the development of Missouri, many of whom achieved historical fame.

  • Dewey Call Number: B MO
  • Christensen, Lawrence O. Dictionary of Missouri Biography. Columbia: U of Missouri, 1999. Print. 

Directory: Laura Ingalls Wilder Country

A guide to the several places Laura Ingalls Wilder lived during her life, including her home in Mansfield, Missouri.

  • Dewey Call Number: 813.52 AND
  • Anderson, William. Laura Ingalls Wilder Country. New York, NY: HarperPerennial, 1990. Print.

Index: Show Me Famous Missourians

A guide to selected famous Missourians containing 20 mini-biographies and direction on where to find more information about each of them.

  • Dewey Call Number: 977.8092
  • Reese, Alice Anna, Heinrich Leonhard, and Aimee Leonhard. Show Me Famous Missourians. Print.

Missouri Legends: Famous People from the Show Me State

Biographies of more than 100 famous Missourians, including trivia, photos, and childhood stories.

  • Dewey Call Number: 920.0778 BRO
  • Brown, John W. Missouri Legends: Famous People from the Show Me State. St. Louis, MO: Reedy, 2008. Print. 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip